What is Love? Scientific VS Religious Definitions of Love

What is Love (Science vs Religions)? Here are some authentic Definitions of love according to Science, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, and Buddhism.

We cannot deny the fact that love plays a vital role in all healthy relationships. Love is the unbeatable power that fills all of us with unbound energy. Love can affect us both mentally and physically. In love, we feel peaceful and comfortable but only if the opposite partner loves you with the same frequency and intensity as you do. Well, the matter of the fact is that love can affect you both positively and negatively depending on types of love. But the first thing that everyone needs to know is “What is Love?” and the difference between the Scientific and Religious Definitions of love.

We all fall in love with someone at least once in our life. It’s natural. And it is a strong emotion, sometimes it leaves a permanent impression on our mind while sometimes it fades away with the passage of time. Ever do you think about it that what is love actually? Love is not only the feel of the likeness of someone or to be with someone.

We fall in love for a number of reasons that include physical attraction, the same interests, the way of communication or we feel more comfortable in the company of the specific person. But do you really know what is love according to science and religion?

What is Love

What is Love? (Definitions of Love)

In general, if we notice, Love has remained the favorite topic of philosophers, poets, writers, and scientists for ages. Most people get confused about the proper definitions of love. Some believe that love is basically a strong feeling of affection, while others think it’s some kind of chemical reaction and nothing else. There are a lot of disagreements about the different definitions of love.

However, we can define love as an extreme feeling of affection, attachment, respect and care. It is one of the intense emotions that as a human we experience. We can also define it as a compassionate and affectionate action towards others or ourselves. Overall, we can’t deny the fact that love is very important for our mind and body as oxygen.

Related Read: 9 Ways To Show Love without saying a word

What is Love Science

What is Love According To Science (Scientific Definitions of Love)

Science also believes that love has a great impact on our lives. It brings changes in our moods and behaviors. It cannot be controlled as it arises from the depths of our subconscious. Science says that love can even affect our performance in everyday life.

Definition of Love According To Neuroscience:

Neuroscience defines love as “It is the emotion experienced when oxytocin is released in the brain – it induces warm and fuzzy feelings of trust, affection, romance, and bonding”.

When someone falls in love, their brain chemistry changes completely, which actually triggers the typical signs of love. Different neurotransmitters are involved in the phenomenon of love. Dopamine, norepinephrine, and serotonin are the three important neurotransmitters that are involved in this process. In this process, the level of serotonin decreases while the Dopamine and norepinephrine levels increase.  Dopamine and norepinephrine play an important role to build your focus and attention on the other person and make them the center of your life. The initial phase of love is like an addiction to cocaine.  Dopamine is helping you to remember each and every detail related to that person.

Stages of Love:

According to science, there are three stages involved with falling in love, they are “attraction, attachment, and lust “.  All these three stages come up with different types of chemical reactions in our brains as well as in our bodies. Other than that, different hormones are also involved to excite all these three stages in our body separately and collectively. It can be simply said that falling in love involves many mechanisms and chemical changes within the brain.

Related Read: 5 Signs Someone Loves You More Than You Think

What is Love According To Religions (Religious Definitions of Love)

definitions of love in Islam


In Islam, the definition of love is the act of kindness and affection along with moral nobility and human respect.

Islam encourages showing love and affection for others. Islamic teaching says that it should be the case at all times.

In a Hadeeth, Prophet said: “By Him in Whose Hand my soul is, you will not enter Paradise unless you believe, and you will not believe unless you love each other. Should I direct you to something that if you constantly did it, you would love each other? Spread the greetings of peace among you.” [Al-Muslim]

If we study Islam thoroughly, we can easily recognize that Islam emphasizes on love, affection, and mercy. In the Quran, the word “love” is mentioned at least 69 times.

What is Love according to Islam? Love in Islam is for all human being, it is not restricted to only one form of man and woman love. In general, Islam teaches us to love all creatures of God. There is another type of love that is love between wife and husband. Islam encourages the love between wife and husband, but it forbids intimate relationships between men and women before marriage.

Related Read: 5 Ways To Build a Strong Relationship

definitions of love in Christianity


If you look for what is love in Christianity, you’ll get a number of definitions of love according to the bible. But you know what I like the most? This one “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, and it keeps no record of wrongs.”

Christianity is all about love. There is a negative view, some people think that Christianity is all about following the strict rules but that’s not true.  However, the love of Christ is a central element of Christian belief and theology. There are four categories of love in Christianity.

  • Empathy Bond
  • Friend Bond
  • Romantic Love
  • Unconditional (God)
definitions of love in Hinduism


In Hinduism, there are four ends of life, they are Dharma (righteousness), Artha (wealth), kama (fulfillment of desire) and Moksha (working for liberation). In this religion, fulfilling one’s desires has given equal and proportionate importance just like other objectives such as wealth. Therefore, an individual is allowed to enjoy love the right way after his marriage with his life partner.

According to Hinduism Definition of Love, you’ll find 5 stages:

  • Kama (Sensory Craving)
  • Maitri (Generous Compassion)
  • Shringara (Intimacy)
  • Bhakti (Impersonal Devotion)
  • Atma Prema (Unconditional Self Love)

Related Read: 6 Unexpected Signs Someone is Attracted To You

definitions of love in Buddhism


In Buddhism, love includes those forms of love that are characterized by freedom. There are four types of love taught in classic Buddhist teachings- The first one Maitri, which means Kindness or benevolence. The second one Karuna which means compassion, the third one is Mudita means joy or happiness, and the fourth one is Upeksha meaning freedom.

All religions in the world are supporting love in the right way. Love is all about respect, care, affection, and protectiveness.

Related Articles:

How to Stop Loving Someone

7 Signs of True Love From a Man

How to Make someone Like you Back

3 Ways to start a conversation with Your Crush